My Sentimentality

I AM A SENTIMENTAL FOOL!

So, I googled SENTIMENTAL and this is what I got:

  1. Of or prompted by feelings of tenderness, sadness, or nostalgia.
  2. (of a work of literature, music, or art) Dealing with feelings of tenderness, sadness, or nostalgia in an exaggerated and self-indulgent…

No kidding, I am the most sentimental person I know.  I find the smallest things sentimental.

Wait! Before I go any further, let me clarify I am an OBSESSIVE SENTIMENTAL

My definition of  an obsessive sentimental is:

Leaning toward an object, place, thing, song, etc, because of it’s sentimental value e.g The girl ordered the bacon and cheese fries again because she had them the last time she went there, even though she didn’t like them.

Yes, I did do that. And I am proud to admit it. And my room is in a state with all the crap I have that I don’t really need.

You’re probably asking, ‘Why is she posting pictures of TV shows?’ The reason is simple.  I feel really sentimental toward these shows. Last year was my first year of college and every Friday, after a three hour bus trip all I wanted was to curl up on the couch and watch these shows.  These shows became a type of lifeline or escape for me after Halloween. Going through a tough time, my routine became: come home; eat; change; laundry; eat; curl up; watch these. I’d fall asleep on the couch until my Mom came home and the routine started up on Saturday and then again the next weekend

CSI Miami Season 10. In my opinion it was not the best season.  But I was devasted that it was the last. This was my number one escape last year. I think because it was so bright and sunshiny and unrealistic. I’ve loved this show from the start and sometimes when I watch it, I remember the night me and my dad put up the Christmas tree, or the summer night that I went to the beach with my sister and her friend, or my Nana’s birthday

Criminal Minds Season 7.  The same more or less as  Miami.  Watching this, I was submerged in a life that wasn’t mine. This is going to sound cheesy but I could see the world in all it’s death and pain and it didn’t affect me. Not once. Again, I’ve been a fan of this show for a long time and I can’t help getting hit with nostalgia when I watch particular episodes.

Body Of Proof. My sister asked me why I watch this show. I can’t exactly tell her that by watching it I’m trying to cling onto a normality that I had my whole life which is now gone.

Batman The Animated Series.  This TV series reminds me of my childhood. It reminds me of Halloween, or of every Stephen’s day when Batman: Mask of the Phantasm was on. I grew up with this hero and he still knows how to make things just that little bit better.

The Office US. Halloween weekend of last year was a bad weekend. So bad that I stayed at my brother’s house on Halloween. We watched this and for the next murky, wet, miserable five weeks, I worked my way through all seven seasons. I laughed hard and I cried.

A Bit Of Fry & Laurie; Family Guy.  Sometimes when you’re tired all you need is to laugh. Even if the jokes are stupid or gross. Just laugh at them. It keeps you sane.

I hope that if you are an obsessively sentimental fool, you too will rejoice in yourself.

___________________________________________________________________

Music gets me really sentimental.  I can’t listen to a song without feeling something, though I’m sure that’s the way with most people.

Here’s a list of songs that get me kinda sad because of some event of other:

  • Arms, Christina Perri
  • Forgiveness, Patty Griffin
  • God Bless The Child, Michelle Feartherstone
  • I’ll See Your Heart, Bell X1
  • Coming Home, Diddy

Here’s a list that make me happy for some event or other:

  • Don’t Fade Away, Milla Jovovich
  • Mine, Taylor Swift
  • Hit The Lights, Selena Gomez
  • What Makes You Beautiful, OneDirection
  • Skinny Love, Birdy

And here’s my Best Nights Out songs:

  • S & M, Rihanna
  • Starsips, Nicki Minaj
  • Raise Your Glass, Pink
  • Glad You Came, The Wanted
  • Good Life, OneRepublic

__________________________________________________________________

I LOVE READING!

Ok, sentimental books.

The Inheritance by Louisa May Alcott. I read it one Christmas AND I love the movie with Thomas Gibson AAAND I love anything to do with christmas so now I have two things to remind me of this. It’s your typical servant girl falls for a man of a higher standing and shiz goes down.

The Star Wars Novelisations. I love the movies, so obviously I bought these books and I have so many memories with these. I got the original trilogy for my birthday and just looking at them reminds me of that weekend. I got the prequel trilogy during my summer, so… yes, days at the beach.

The Inheritance Trilogy by Christopher Paulini. I read these books during my third year of secondary school. It got me through exams. Reading these books remind me of the summer when I went to the library nearly EVERY DAY.

Point Horror, Sweet Valley. Again, my youth; my coming of age, etc…

__________________________________________________________________

Uhhh, Mac & Cheese! My Mom makes this for me when I’m sick, so I love eating this stuff because it makes me feel better. I just veg out and I can feel good about it. I remember the first day I had this. Mom picked me up early from sick because I was sick and it was raining and it was SOOO good.

____________________________________________________________

I love this dress. It’s my feel good, classy-looking dress. I got this last year. I was going to wear it for the big 18 but that didn’t work out. So this became my Christmas dress. It makes me super happy when I wear this dress.

No it doesn’t. It doesn’t really make me feel anything. When I think about wearing it, I think about Christmas.

To amend the words of Douglas Smith, ‘This dress didn’t do what it was supposed to do, but I think it did what it HAD to do.’

Yes it’s a little sad that I take so much pride in this little dress. It didn’t do anything except make me look nice.

________________________________________________________

Notes always make me smile.  I used to have a huge crush on Nicholas Bishop during his Home & Away days and my friends in school used to make fun of me because of it – in good humour, of course.  That was like six years ago, and I still have every one of our notes.  I love these notes. They remind me of my youth, my first sense of ‘love’ – for lack of a better word – my first sense of growing up. I began to like my own kind of music, my own books, my own TV shows.  And it reminds me of freedom. I used to be so content running around fields and playing make-believe. I could entertain myself for hours and hours and I love the nostalgic feeling I get when I look at these notes.
(I looked for the envelopes they were in this morning but I couldn’t find them, but as soon as I do, I will post embarrassing pictures.)

My overpowering elements of sentimentality. There they are

Leave a Reply

