Disney Movies

I had this friend in school who moved away before graduation. And at lunch our (rather large group) would talk about anything and everything: one day we’d salivate over good looking teachers; another day we asked all the female teachers who their favourite actors were and, more often than not, we talked about movies. And one day, the topic was Disney movies. I think everyone in the group, both guys and gals, were shocked to hear that this particular friend had never seen any of the Disney movies. (What made this announcement all the more shocking was that her heart-throb older brother owned a rental store. )(And after we found out about this a select few of us spent the rest of the lunch hour sitting on the floor and belting out Hakuna Matata and other Disney classics.)

So, for those of you out there who are like this lovely lady, I present to you a list of my favourite Disney (and just plain animated) movies.

I will probably call my lady friends for a friday-night in film fest!

I can still hear Rasputin’s voice as she looks for her dog in the garden’s: Anastasia. Or wondering what DASVIDANIYA means and finally finding out (it means GOODBYE, for those wondering).

The story tells of 18 year old Anastasia, or Anya, who, after leaving an orphanage, sets out to discover her past. It’s a retelling of the story of  Grand Duchess Anastasia, the youngest daughter of Tzar Nikolas II, and it’s based on the legend that she survived the execution of her family.

This is such a lovely movie. It’s stunning, it’s heart warming, it’s historical. It spiked my interest in Roman history. And the dresses, oh, the dresses.

I think the main reason I loved this movie so much was that one of the songs had the word December in it and my birthday was in December. But honestly, the music was superb!

 

Can you believe that this movie was made in 1987?Who doesn’t love that red hair? Who didn’t  used to job on the rocks going ”Part Of Your Woorrld!’? or who didn’t used know ALL THE WORDS TO Under The Sea. This movie tells the story of a little mermaid who longs to get out of the sea, gets out of the sea and then meets her Prince Charming.

Again, the music is classic. The dresses are stunning and the story is beautiful!

 

 

 

This is the Disney movie my daughters are going to watch most. It’s ay her about a girl who says, ‘F*** this’ to a society that will let an old, dying man fight and push little girls away.

When her father is called in to fight in the battle against The Huns, Mulan cuts her hair, pretends to be a man, joins the army and fights. She fights for the right to be seen as an equal to men in desperate times. She fights to be accepted by her comrades. Oh, and a father’s love and fear for his daughter. And friendship. And honour.

What do I say to all you women out there who want to make a difference? This is what I say:

(Be a man)
We must be swift as
the coursing river
(Be a man)
With all the force
of a great typhoon
(Be a man)
With all the strength
of a raging fire
Mysterious as the
dark side of the moon

 

 

(Disney hit the nail on the head with the music!)

How many times do I have to watch this movie until it stops making me cry!?

Who wanted Pocahontas’ necklace? Who was pissed with Pocahontas 2: Journey To A New World? *Raising the roof hand movements* Up here!  Hell, I even used to sit crossed legged on the couch with a brush singing ‘I look once more, just around the river bend.‘ And we have a tree outside that I used to kneel in front off when I was a child that has a smooth over it because I was convinced it looked like Grandmother Willow.

 

 

 

 

I think this is quite possibly my favourite Disney movie of all time. I think it’s the combination of Belle’s personality that I relate to; again, the outfits; the music; or the quaint little French village Belle hails from but I love this movie. I love that this movie looks at the beauty inside more than the beauty outside.

 

 

 

 

 

Yeah, I wrote an essay on this for 1st year of college, and no it didn’t ace (hey, it was a first attempt.) But it was interesting to see parallel between The Lion King and Hamlet. Every time we got a new puppy I would always hold it up like the opening scene, like cam in modern family

Courtesy of fymodernfamily.tumblr.com

Yeah something like that 😀

But anyway…

HERE’S SOME MORE SUGGESTIONS:

  • The Hunch Back Of Notre Dame
  • The Muppets
  • Snow White & The Seven Dwarves
  • Aladdin

And, in my humble opinion, I’d stay away from sequels. But that’s just me. I do like all 3 Toy Storys

Leave a Reply

