Sequels; Prequels & Remakes

Prequels

With the upcoming Lord of the Rings prequel – The Hobbit – coming out in December, I have high hopes for this. But many prequels don’t get the high praise that the originals do (see below). I’m wondering is this a curse for all franchises. Let’s inspect:

Star Wars Prequels
Nothing can beat originals, that’s kind of a given, but – and maybe I’m just saying this because it’s popular belief – this was pretty bad. I was watching The Phantom Menace lately and I’ve been thinking about AOTC and ROTS and I can’t help but remember the script as being rather stilted and robotic. I don’t want to bash on the writers; I think the story was pretty alright, despite me shunning romance in movies that aren’t meant to be focused on romance (it takes away from the action of it all.) And forgive me for saying this but the effects looked more realistic back in the 70s and 80s than they did in the prequels.

One brilliant prequel?

X-Men: First Class
I absolutely loved this movie, though I was slightly wary about it to begin with. It didn’t disappoint. (I think we are finally seeing a new age for comic book movies; an age where we get good ones and not crap ones.) The cast was stellar. the effects realistic (as realistic as they can be when you are making a science fiction movie about mutants); and the story-lines were moving, realistic, honest and relatable. BONUS POINTS FOR FIRST CLASS: There were no soppy love stories, and any of the evident romantic scenes (Raven + Hank OR Erik) didn’t dominate the movie.

I don’t think that the ‘prequel curse’ exists, but that it’s all about the vision and the confidence put into a script. Just because the original Star Wars series was a hit, did the writers get cocky and overly confident and screw up? And because the original X-Men series wasn’t the most amazing, did the writers put everything they had into the script and come out with an ultimate winner?

I realised that lately I’m very about keeping opinions to yourself if you don’t like it so I figured I’d practise a bit of what I preach before getting down to nitty-gritty shit.  Here’s a rundown of all the things that I love about the Star Wars Prequels.

  • An amazing cast: Liam Neeson, Ewan McGregor, Natalie Portman… I love these guys!
  • They gave a backstory to EVERYONE including the robots – how R2-D2 and C-3PO came to be
  • Beautiful scenery – I swear to god, if Naboo was a place I would be there.
  • Eye candy in the form of Hayden Christensen!

May The Force Be With You

Remakes

I’ve been watching horror movies a lot (I love the fear they bring). I watched The Birds the other week and, as I usually do when I’m watching a movie, I was surfing IMDb and I read a quote from Tippi Herden on the birds remake that I really stuck with me:

Quote on The Birds remake

When I read this I thought, Hey, yeah, you tell them girl!  So, I ask: what is this obsession with remakes of horror movies? I have yet to see a hyped up remakes of movies like North By Northwest, Rebecca, Roman Holiday, etc. I want to see an original horror movie, which is why I can’t wait to see Cabin In The Woods or why I love Paranormal Activity. With regards PA, they are not remakes of Freddy, Jason or Michael killing half naked teenagers, it’s something scarier (maybe I’m biased because I think that there’s nothing scarier than demonic activity.) Which is a brilliant segway into my next topic of…

Sequels

Paranormal Activity saga. Yes. I will admit that I am a fan. I can’t watch this at night because it freaks me out. I made the mistake of seeing the 3rd one in the cinema and then going back to an empty apartment. Am I cautious about how the fourth movie will fare? (Yes there is a fourth one! October 19th in Ireland.) Yeah I am. The first one was terrifying; the second one gave more of a story to the franchise; and while the third one scared the SHI* out of me, I thought it was somewhat unnecessary, I don’t think it told us anything we didn’t already know.

Other notable sequels:

  • I’ve already mentioned The Matrix – I did like the first and second one (the second one was action filled) but this trilogy was ruined for me by the love story.
  • I love all the Back To The Futures but the third one was NOT my favourite
  • Friday the 13th – I found the 2nd one to be much more scary than the first one. I guess a point in favour of sequels.
  • I thought Star  Trek: The Wrath of Khan was so good. I want to say better than the Motion Picture?
  • Pirates Of The Caribbean is a winner in my book.
  • The only reason I watched Final Destination 2 was because it had AJ Cook and Michael Landes and I watched Final Destination 3 because I had nothing better to do, but I enjoyed them. Even if they are background fillers.
  • At this point Saw is just getting ridiculous. Seriously, who comes up with these scenarios?

Well… There are my 2 cents on Sequels, Prequels and Remakes (but as it turns out not in that order). What’s yours? Any particular favourites? Feel free to share!

XOXO

Leave a Reply

