That’s me in the corner, That’s me in the spotlight, Losing my religion

I’ve never really been a religious person. Until recently, I never prayed. I hated going to mass but lately I need that connection to something bigger than we are; to something… honestly I have this weird complex of feeling safe and I  guess I need that connection for a feeling of safety of not being alone.

I was praying last night and for some strange reason I was REALLY paying attention to what I was saying. And I thought ‘Prayers and Scriptures have been around for so long. People make up their own prayers but aren’t the scriptures more or less set in stone?’ I’ve never been able to wrap my head around how the church can justify changing the wording of the Nicene Creed. It was fine the way it was and people knew it! When I go to mass, I don’t read from the leaflet. I say what I know. I don’t do this as an act of rebellion. I do it because it’s what I know and it’s what I’m used to. What are they going to do now: change the words of the Our Father or Hail Mary? It’s a power play and I know that, but if the Church hadn’t screwed up in the first place they wouldn’t have felt the need to make a play. Or would they? Can they not see that they are losing their congregation

Also, something else that pisses me off: the times changing in our parishes. I don’t know if that happened where you are, but I think I can safely say that half our parish doesn’t use or parish church. AND they still expect us to give money to the church because maybe we would like to have weddings, funerals, and baptisms there.

This isn’t a church bashing. Really. It’s me getting my views out there. Maybe I am losing my religion but I refuse to lose my faith now that I’ve learned how important it is to me.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

