What I did to Beautify Myself

On Saturday morning, before the Bridal Shower, my Mom and I had a girly moment. We booked in to JESSIES in Bantry to get our eyebrows done. I was initially going to get them waxed for a tidy up (a tidy up, my ass) but 1.) the technician said that I might be allergic to the wax (as it turned out I wasn’t!) so I ventured (hesitantly: I’ve only ever plucked my eyebrows twice in three years because I am terrified to find out how high my pain threshold goes) for the PLUCKING and THREADING option instead (which terrified me!) and 2.) I went from having full (and messy) eyebrows to having full, neat, smaller and way more attractive eyebrows.

The technician was so nice. I was really apprehensive about the plucking and threading (bad experiences and horror stories respectively). But OHMYGOD! I found that threading was so much better than plucking: Plucking involves the slow process of taking one at a time but threading took many at once and stung about as much as plucking would. (when it comes to stubborn hairs, plucking is so much better: it felt like the thread got stuck in my face.)

I know, maybe, when you hear the word threading, you might think it’s putting a needle through your eyebrows and going that way (I did anyway.) But that’s not the case. She had some thread and just pulled it through.

20120823-180835.jpg

Pictures are terrible but they are much neater in the lower image

My eyebrows are so much more neater than they used to be and if I had bee left to my own devices, I would have plucked an odd few and kept the bushiness (thinking I was pulling off the Keira Knightly look). Maybe next time I will try waxing them. That should be fun.

I apologise. My explanation of threading is terrible and out of all the questions I asked, HOW TO was not one of them. She did:

  • recommend MOROCCAN OIL for frizzy hair
  • let me know that you need to be trained to do threading and you can’t JUST DO IT

(For the record, I don’t think that my life is something people actually care about, I just know how much I appreciate blogs out there that give advice on the little things.)

More experiences to come!

 

 

Leave a Reply

