Taylor Swift – Red

I took the plunge a few days ago and bought Taylor Swift’s Red on iTunes. Is it good? Is it bad? Well, considering Taylor Swift is my out of the closet guilty pleasure, I loved it.

Even though it is still the lyrics are more or less the same as other albums (“Loving him is like driving a new Maserati down a dead end street…”) the music itself sounds more grown up. The songs sound almost nothing like “Love Story” or “Mine” or “Sparks Fly” from previous albums.

I can’t describe it the sound. It’s almost like trying to hit ‘hip’ and more poppy while still maintianing the country origins.  It works really well. She even tries her hand at dub-step in “I Knew You Were Trouble” which I hated the first time I heard it but it has somehow caught onto me.

Aside from “Red” and “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together” (which I love), “Stay Stay Stay” is a cute little song that’s different from the other cutesy songs I’ve heard from Taylor.

My other love from this album is ‘The Last Time’ featuring Snow Patrol’s Gary Lightbody. The lyrics are a bit of a let down coming from the lead singer of Snow Patrol but the song overall does sound like  a half and half from both Lightbody and Swift.

Try out a few tracks on YouTube and le me know what you think!

Background

During the webchat, Swift revealed the meaning behind her album’s title:

“All the different emotions that are written about on this album are all pretty much about the kind of tumultuous, crazy, insane, intense, semi-toxic relationships that I’ve experienced in the last two years. All those emotions — spanning from intense love, intense frustration, jealousy, confusion, all of that — in my mind, all those emotions are red. You know, there’s nothing in between. There’s nothing beige about any of those feelings.”

Swift, who had spent over two years writing and exploring this album, also revealed to MTV news “that the album brings fans on a lyrical journey that explores falling in love, heartache and new beginnings”. She also explained how she transformed her emotions into hit songs and is ever conscious not to repeat herself in her songs.

Source: Wikipedia – Taylor Swift, Red

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s)
1. State of Grace Taylor Swift
2. Red Swift
3. Treacherous Swift, Dan Wilson
4. I Knew You Were Trouble Swift, Max MartinShellback
5. All Too Well Swift, Liz Rose
6. 22 Swift, Martin, Shellback
7. I Almost Do Swift
8. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together Swift, Martin, Shellback
9. Stay Stay Stay Swift
10. The Last Time” (featuring Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol) Swift, Lightbody, Jacknife Lee
11. Holy Ground Swift
12. “Sad Beautiful Tragic” Swift
13. The Lucky One Swift
14. Everything Has Changed” (featuring Ed Sheeran) Swift, Sheeran
15. Starlight Swift
16. Begin Again Swift

Note: I love this album. I can’t stop listening to it. Everything above is my opinion aside from what I’ve credited to other sites.

Leave a Reply

