The Devil Wear Prada and… The Devil wears Prada!

Yep, folks! This is what my St. Patrick’s night consisted of.  19 years young and the highlight of my weekend was not going out to the club with my friends drinking and dancing the night away. Nope… It was curling up on the couch with my Mom, a bowl of Neapolitan ice-cream (hm, lemons…!), and watching ‘Poirot’, ‘The Voice of Ireland’ and… yep, ‘Fair City’. And, then after Mom went to bed, I curled up on the couch threw on ‘The Devil Wears Prada’ and read … The Devil Wears Prada.

(Have I aged before my time?)

What can I say? I’m a sucker for tyrannical bosses and ‘never will I ever be able to afford them’ clothes. After experiencing both of these at least once, I loved them. Maybe it was the whole, Meryl Streep/ Anne Hathaway/ Stanley Tucci/Emily Blunt/ Simon Baker ensemble. Maybe it was how deliciously evil Meryl Streep is as Miranda Priestly in the movie. But, yeah, I fell in love.

I wasn’t until recently though that I was able to truly appreciate this movie. This last year or so I’ve developed quite the captivation for fashion (I begged my sister to come to Brown Thomas one day and wowed her with my knowledge of lables such as Alice + Olivia, L.K Bennett, Miu Miu and others) so last night I decided to re-watch the movie and watch it as a tale on fashion industry and not just a movie with pretty clothes. Now it’s pretty clothes that I can appreciate and a sudden urge to start collecting issues of Vogue Magazine (because the story is said to be based on the experience of the author Lauren Weisberger and her tine working with Vogue and Anna Wintour. )

So there you have it: a thrilling re-telling of my St. Patrick’s Day.

And while my peers are dancing the nigt away, I am sitting here typing and re-watching…

The Devil Wears Prada!

Enjoy xx

One thought on “The Devil Wear Prada and… The Devil wears Prada!

  1. Pingback: Favourite Movies – Summer 2013 edition! | Chipped Heart & Empty Cup

Leave a Reply

