Summer Reading

I think if I was an obsessive traveler then I might consider going for an e-book. Until then, I stick to good old fashioned paper- (and occasionally hard-) backs. I absolutely worship books and have been reading (my mom says) since before I could talk. She told me how I even had plastic books when I was about two or three that I used to bring into the bath with me. I have a bit of a book problem. I ten to buy paperbacks which, if I love, I’ll then go out and buy expensive hardbacks that look pretty… I know. FOR SHAME!

For the last year, my leisure reading has been pretty lax. Study, assignments and the necessity to leave my bed to attend lectures has pushed my reading list down on my priorities. (I have been reading the Pretty Little Liars series but since it takes me about three months to get through a tiny book we don’t talk about that.) But GOOD NEWS…

SUMMER IS COMING!

Image Source: shit-the-dreamer

Holidays, I mean. I live in Ireland and the weather here is pretty much a constant autumn/winter feel to it. We haven’t even had a real spring yet.

Anyway…

I have a very large book collection that I want to get through. Not including re-reads.

BUT:

I’m looking for recommendations. A lot of my ‘to reads’ are Young Adult or fact or fantasy and I was looking for something else. Something kind of magical. I’m thinking Hemingway, Steinbeck, Fitzgerald… I read The Great Gatsby recently and fell in love. Maybe late 1800s – 1900s. No poetry. I want to add to my collection. I remember a summer when I ended up with a total of FOUR unread books in my room and I started to panic. Yeah. That was… Well, we don’t want that to happen again.

I have been hearing nothing but amazing things about The Fault In Our Stars by John Green so I’m gonna give that a go.

Exams are finished on the 28th of May. So as soon as that last paper is handed up my ports of call will be Eason’s and Waterstones, Vibes & Scribes for some second-hand amaze-balls! And I’ll check out the vintage stores to see if I can find anything odd and amazing.

Honestly, my reading list for my second year was unimpressive. The only text that gripped me was The Stepford Wives by Ira Levin which is SO much better than the 2004 movie with Nicole Kidman.

My unrealistic wish list looks something like EVERYTHING FROM SWEET VALLEY AND POINT HORROR.

But I’ve decided to keep things a little realistic for a bit – just until exams are over and I don’t get carried away:

  • The Fault In Our Stars
  • Water for Elephants
  • Lolita
  • The Master and the Margarita
  • The Old Curiousity Shop
  • Inheritance

(For some reason these are the only pictures that will show 😦 )

No one can ever have TOO MANY books. Anyone who thinks they can send all your unwanted books to me. Or to charity. Or to a library… Sorry. I love hearing recommendations and trying things out.

I’d love to hear your recommendations for any kind of reading: summer, winter, fun, travel. Let me know in the comments

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

