Silver Linings Playbook

I finally got around to watching Silver Linings Playbook and it was soo good. I really wanted to see it because I’m a huge Jennifer Lawrence fan (and I thought she would make numerous appearances in my top moments) but after hearing mixed reviews about it, despite the Oscar and Golden Globe nominations and wins, I had very low expectations.

It was THAT good

The book was… alright – well written, with some amazing lines that will stay with me – but I don’t see myself returning to it any time soon.  And a friend of mine said she had got  ten minutes into the movie before she turned it off (I had to agree with her reasoning: seeing Bradley Cooper in this kind of serious role was a bit strange.)

But I quickly got into it with a little help from Danny, played by Chris Tucker. He quickly got the laughs out of me and was easily my favorite character. He had more of a role to play in the movie – unless I just don’t remember him in the book, I think he only had a few scenes. When the police kept showing up when Danny was there there were cries of’ ‘Oh Danny’ as though this were typical.

I love Robert De Niro. I don’t know for how long but he has been one of my favorite actors for a while now. And I can honestly say that Robert De Niro + Bradely Cooper = I see it! Jennifer Lawrence’s delivery of the scene when she yells at him is incredible. I would have been TERRIFIED if I had to yell at Robert De Niro!

Does anyone here happen to know what the Official Motto of the State of New York is on the Official Seal of the State of New York? Huh? Anybody? Do you? Do you know? … Excelsior! … Look it up. Yeah — Excelsior! Not that I give a fuck about football, or about your superstitions — but if its me reading the signs, I don’t send the Eagles guy whose personal motto is Excelsior to a fucking Giants game, especially when he’s already in a legal situation.

Here’s the clip:

Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Speaking of awesome delivery, I did not realise how talented Bradley Cooper was. All I’ve seen of him were The Hangover, Alias, Valentine’s Day… but as soon as Cooper gave his speech about Hemmingway, I was completely taken by this guy.

(As a side note, I am surprised by how much I liked Julia Stiles in this movie.)

Without giving too much away I will say that the last maybe half hour of the movie was amazing: from the dance scene on I was just so giddy and tense! I can’t remember the last time a movie did that to me.

The soundtrack for the movie is pretty awesome. I bought it before I watched the movie. The score is incredible and Girl from the North Country by Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash is amazing!

The one thing that didn’t like about the movie was simply the time difference in the book: in the movie, Pat has only been away for a few months; in the book he’s away a lot longer. If you haven’t read the book, it doesn’t really matter, I just thought that that would have added another ‘Oh!’ moment in the movie.

If you’re looking for a good watch this weekend, definitely check out this movie. It is unbelievable how good it is.

Leave a Reply

