Les Miserables

Les Miserables was supposed to be one of the BIG ones. I had to watch it in two parts because it was really late when I started watching it but it was REALLY good. (I could just be saying this because I’m going through a bit of a musical phase.) I cried towards the end. I got tingles and shivers

As I write this I am listening to the soundtrack on rdio.  Based on victor Hugo’s novel of the same name, the plot is brilliantly summarised on Wikipedia:

The film tells the story of Jean Valjean, an ex-convict who becomes mayor of a town in France. Soon exposed, Valjean agrees to take care of Cosette, the illegitimate daughter of the dying Fantine, but as a fugitive must also avoid being captured again by police inspector Javert. The plot spans 17 years and is set against a backdrop of political turmoil, which in the film culminates in the June Rebellion of France.

Source: Wikipedia

The cast is made up of talent:

  • Hugh Jackman stars as Jean Valjean
  • Russell Crowe stars as Javert
  • Anne Hathaway and Amanda Seyfried as Fantine and Cosette
  • Eddie Redmayne plays Marius Pontmercy,
  • Helena Bonham Carter and Sacha Baron Cohen play the Thénardiers
  • Samantha Barks played Éponine, the Thénardiers’ daughter.[37]
  • Aaron Tveit portrayed Enjolras, the leader of Les Amis de l’ABC.

If you DO plan on watching this movie, be warned: it is ALL singing. ALL SINGING… There’s a handful of spoken words. There’s twenty if that… But it has an amazing soundtrack.

It really is an amazing movie. Just because it took me two nights to watch it doesn’t mean I didn’t like it (unlike the 6 months it took me to watch Limitless)


 

Leave a Reply

