The Dreaded Exercise Post

Why have I spent so much time contemplating whether or not to write this? First and foremost, I am not an expert when it comes to exercise and what not. For me, exercise is a sort of hobby and has only really become fun for me recently.

Why am I writing this now? Because my legs feel like they are about to fall off and, for the last few weeks I’ve been able to keep up my routine without it getting Stale. I hope that by writing a few exercise posts I’ll be able to find fresh exercises because my attention span and motivation can drop drastically.

Whenever I feel stressed out about ANYTHING, going to the gym is the easiest way for me to get it out of my system. I find that, after a night out my first port of call is the gym – it’s when I’m at my most energetic because I’m still buzzing from the night before.

My main fall: attention and motivation. When I feel my attention waning, my motivation just goes down the drain.

Take a Class

I took a class once. It didn’t work out so well. Why? Because I went to the advanced spinning class instead of the beginners. Pick a class that goes at your own pace and tell your instructor if you have any injuries. If I had told my instructor that I suffer from sciatica, I think I would have been able to manage it.

Playlists

 music for me is a must have! I cannot do anything at the gym if I don’t have my headphones at least and I much prefer having control over my music. Just as bad is when a playlist becomes stale. I have one giant gym playlist and then a bunch of little playlists made out of the big one. I have pop music, indie music, techno music, soundtracks. Today I had The Great Gatsby, Mamma Mia, Daft Punk‘s New Album, Edward Sharpe’s Home, Katy Perry and Kesha

Set a goal

The elliptical is always one lap in under 30 minutes adjusting the resistance to suit me, the stairs machine is at least 10 minutes to 30 minutes. The bike is 2 laps in 10 minutes. Setting goals is a way for me to keep my head where it’s supposed to be and keep myself motivated.  

Take the dog to the beach

“Can I go play now!?”

Really! Who can say no to these faces? And there is nothing more fun than chasing after these little things

Take a hike.

No. Really, go for a hike. With limited access to the gym for the summer this is where I’ll be. The terrain is pretty uneven and sometimes I have horror images of stepping on a stone the wrong way and falling flat on my face. But I have successfully been reaching the top for the last three days and for as long as the fine weather keeps up.

Go With A Friend

for some (like me) exercise is best done alone. I don’t mind if, occasionally I run into a friend there ans we take side by side bikes but 95% of the time I prefer being on my own. 

THIS:

The bottom line here is an active person has the ability to burn more calories even when they’re not working out. When an excessive amount of calories is consumed (at parties), you can rest assured that you’re not going to pay in pounds. Soooo, if you exercise and maintain a healthy diet, you’re able to have cheat days and treats!

More Than Mary

Whenever I can I go to the gym, even if it’s just for ten minutes. Ten minutes is still something. No matter how long I’m there for I always feel really energetic for the rest of the day.

 

Leave a Reply

