Favourite Movies – Summer 2013 edition!

Pretty Woman

I love this movie. I cannot say it simpler than that. I love this movie and have loved this movie since I was twelve. Yep…

Holy Shit!

It’s like your typical fairytale but it has a bit of a twist! She’s a hooker, he buys companies and tears them down. She teaches him to live, he teaches her to love. Add in Hector Elizondo into the mix and you have a typical Garry Marshall movie (except for Maid In Manhattan or any other of his movies that had NONE of these actors in them). I have loved every Garry Marshall movie I have ever seen, especially Runaway Bride because that was on constantly in our house when I was a kid. But Pretty Woman is OFFICIALLY my favourite Garry Marshall movie. And I love Julia Roberts!

The Devil Wears Prada

Partially based on novelist, Lauren Weisberger‘s, actual experiences, The Devil Wears Prada protagonist Miranda Priestly was supposedly based on Vogue editor in Chief Anna Wintour. This movie is an excellent chick flick: Paris, New York, fashion, couture… Simon Baker *swoon*.

I appreciate this movie far more now than I did when I first watched it. I know who Patrick is! I still don’t like Adrian Grenier but I will suffer in silence for this movie. I don’t find Anne Hathaway as annoying as I used to!

Chasing Mavericks

I think my feelings about this movie are very clear by now from some previous posts. It’s inspirational. It’s sad. It has Leven Rambin and Abigail Spencer in it. It has an excellent soundtrack and a great location.

Beauty & the Beast

“Tale as old as time. True as it can be.” Maybe it’s because I’ve been told that I remind people of Belle. Maybe it’s because of Once Upon A Time and Rumbelle… Naw, Robert Carlyle and Emilie De Ravin aren’t the cause, they just make it sweeter! Belle is a pretty bad-ass bookworm who isn’t afraid to stand up to Beast or Gaston and inevitably sees the good in Beast. And hello, Angela Lansbury as a talking teapot… Uh, I love tea!

Factory Girl

Sienna Miller stars as model, movie star, socialite and heiress Edie Sedgewick, an Andy Warhol girl who died at the age of 28 after several stints in psychiatric hospitals and rehabilitation centres. Guy Pierce starred as Andy Warhol, and Hayden Christensen as Billy Quint, a conglomeration of numerous people but sharing a likeness to Bob Dylan, whom it was believed Sedgewick had had a relationship with. It embodies the sixties of New York in terms of the fashion and Miller does an amazing portrayal of this type of character

Sienna Miller as Edie Sedgewick (Source: werkiee)

His & Hers

His & Hers. I first saw this movie about two years ago but I still love it. It’s a sweet documentary about love.

Leave a Reply

