Pocahontas Really Screwed me over as a child

I’m watching Pocahontas and thinking back to when I first watched this movie on VHS, I must have been about 5 or 6. What happened to that Video Cassette you may be asking?  I threw it in the toilet and tried to flush it down. I was that hurt by it… Every time I’d think about John Smith and Pocahontas, I broke down in sobs; I couldn’t watch the sequel because Pocahontas and John Smith were not canon…

Real version

Real Pocahontas

I read this article from HelloGiggles

Do any of you know the actual, true story of this? Like the truth facts on which this movie is based? No? Well, let me enlighten you. Pocahontas was a child when she met John Smith. Yeah, it’s generally agreed that she saved his life, by putting her head on his just as her tribe were about to beat his brains out, but there was no romance going on there, and if there had been, it would NOT be fodder for a Disney film. Also, don’t try to save someone else’s life. You will get shot and lose your chance at true love because you’ve sailed to a country with no hospitals. Heroism is dangerous, don’t try this at home.

Source

HOW CAN YOU SAY THAT!? 😥

Disney‘s version

“Can You Paint With All The Colours of The Wind?”

John Smith leaves England with the Virginia Company. They travel to America in search of gold. He meets a Princess named Pocahontas. Pocahontas is the daughter of tribe leader Powhatan and is set to marry Kocoum … until she meets John Smith. It’s Disney: they fall in love, shit happens. John is held captive by the Native Americans, people die. War is about to begin between the Natives and the English once the tribe kill John. Pocahontas prevents her father from killing him and saves him, claiming, “I love him!”. Her father lets him go. Ratcliffe shoots at Powhatan but John dives in front of the bullet and saves him… Oh, and gets shot. AND LEAVES HER…! Thank you, Disney!

So, not only did Disney create this beautiful love story, they ripped it away from me. Just like that!

😥

Even now at 19, the ending makes me cry. He says that he’ll stay with her… She runs after the ship… Oh sweet god, it hurts. This was probably the hardest post I’ve ever had to write.

Don’t get me started on the sequel…

And to end this, I have to say that Pocahontas had a lot more facial expression than some of today’s actors…

Leave a Reply

