My First Taste of Electronic/Techno/DubStep was M83!

You may already know this about me t I’ve become obsessed with Techno, Electronic, Dubstep, Classical Dubstep… And while it became apparent to me when I listened to Daft Punk‘s new album endlessly, it started a few months back when someone suggested I listen to M83, a French electonic band formed in 2001 with 6 studio albums under their belt.

My love for this band began with their 2011 album Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming and ‘Midnight City‘ and I was blown away by how much I loved it. It’s a song that you’d hear featured on TV  (Renault advert, anyone? – I think it’s Renault. It’s a car driving along what look like French roads) but listen to the song once in full and you will be obsessed! Some of the music on the album is really haunting – ‘Where The Boats Go’ – and just generally beautiful music (I write that sentence as I listen to ‘Wait’ – it’s a slow song and the sounds in it are AMAZING)  

As well as 6 studio albums, M83 composed the soundtrack for 2013 sci-fi flick, Obliviondirected by Joseph Kosinski (Tron: Legacy).

M83, Saturdays = Youth

Saturdays = Youth was released in 2008 and the piano opening on the very first song (‘You Appearing’ )won me over instantly – what can I say, I’m a sucker for the piano.

The bottom line is – their music is hypnotic and an amazing accompaniment when you go for a walk or to the gym or for a party. Check it out if you don’t believe me:

Leave a Reply

