The Christmas Movie List

A post shared by Aisling O'Sullivan (@ashseer) on

Christmas is my absolute favourite time of year and what better way to spend your evenings with a big cup of tea/hot chocolate (with honey? A suggestion from a guy at work… let’s see how well that will go down.) These movies aren’t necessarily Christmas movies, rather movies that I associate with this time of year. I finish work for Christmas tomorrow and plan on being splayed out on the couch for the full 24hours (before I have to make the journey home) to finish off my list, and get me in the mood. So, if you want to join me in the festive spirit, then, to borrow a phrase from Derren Brown, ‘read on you splendid thing.

Back To The Future. More so the first two than the third one. Every year, between Christmas and New Year’s Eve, for three days, this trilogy, and as much as I love these films, they don’t have the umph when i watch them anytime besides Christmas. A few years back, my brother gave me a Delorean model… Christmas… gifts… see the link?

Last year, in the lead up to Christmas, my mom and I were in the living room, channel surfing for something Christmassy when we stumbled across Nativity. My initial reaction was, ‘oh, a crappy movie with Martin Freeman…Ok…’ But it was so good! The plot: a class of kiddies compete to win a nativity/ singing competition led by their teacher and his troublesome TA. The icing on the cake? There’s a Nativity 2 with David Tennant and a Nativity 3 with Catherine Tate! Oh, Swoon!

Shrek, the first one. Aside from Shrek being like the Grinch in Ogre form, there’s not much else that can be associated with Christmas, right? For me, it has a slightly deeper sense – I associate it with this memory that I have where I was home alone with my Dad and Nana, and it was Christmas.

How The Grinch Stole Christmas. The week before Halloween, this was on tv. One part of me was screaming at myself to resist, to change the channel… JUST CHANGE THE FUCKING CHANNEL! Another part of me calmly told myself to just give in and watch it… and I did. And it was beautiful… I mean HIS HEART GREW! Just like that…

I had a Home Alone marathon a few weeks back and I laughed – I had forgotten how funny these movies were, especially the second one. Oh, Tim Curry… just, Oh… You are an exceptional man. The fact that I enjoy watching a kid beat the shit out of two grown men may something about me, but I’m ok with that. An who can find fault with Catherine O’Hara and John Heard!!!

Silver linings! #homealone2 #lostinnewyork #CountdownToChristmas

A post shared by Aisling O'Sullivan (@ashseer) on

I’m the most emotional person I know. Seriously, I cry at everything. And sometimes a cry is needed, especially around Christmas, to stop it all coming out in one torrent during the holiday. My go-tos are Moulin Rouge and Titanic. I mean, really, Satine and Christian almost made it and then she DIES… I mean you see it coming but she DIES!? Was it totally necessary to kill her off!? And Titanic… She gets reunited with EVERYONE! Ant the old couple, and the mother with the kids… I can’t even deal with that right now…

Batman: Mask of The Phantasm and Returns. MOTP is one of my childhood Christmas movies. It’s just so perfect – again, another movie played at Christmas… And Returns is just set at Christmas – and has a rendition of ‘Making Christmas’ in it…

I’ve never seen A Charlie Brown Christmas but this Christmas is going to change that. I’ve seen a clip of it and it kinda broke my heart a little.

National Lampoons Christmas Vacation is Christmas Comedy Gold.

Anything from Hallmark… The cheesiness is just too much!

Leave a Reply

