Stephen Fry, I applaud you

It’s amazing, isn’t it, that in this day and age, in a country with so many cultures, so many religions, in a world with so many horrors, when someone talks crap about God in response to a question posed on a Michael Parkinson/I don’t know what would be the closest American talk show type talk show can cause such uproar

The question: “Suppose it’s all true, and you walk up to the pearly gates, and are confronted by God.  What will Stephen Fry say to him, her, or it?”

The response:

“I’d say, bone cancer in children? What’s that about? How dare you? How dare you create a world to which there is such misery that is not our fault. It’s not right, it’s utterly, utterly evil. Why should I respect a capricious, mean-minded, stupid God who creates a world that is so full of injustice and pain. That’s what I would say. ”

Then Fry was was posed with the question by the host: “And you think you are going to get in, like that?”

And then Fry fired back:

“But I wouldn’t want to, I wouldn’t want to get in on his terms.  They are wrong.  Now, if I died and it was Pluto, Hades, and if it was the 12 Greek gods then I would have more truck with it, because the Greeks didn’t pretend to not be human in their appetites, in their capriciousness, and in their unreasonableness… they didn’t present themselves as being all-seeing, all-wise, all-kind, all-beneficent, because the god that created this universe, if it was created by god, is quite clearly a maniac… utter maniac, totally selfish. We have to spend our life on our knees thanking him? What kind of god would do that?  So, atheism isn’t not just about not believing there’s a God, but on the assumption there is one, what kind of God is he?”

You can watch the interview segment here:

My opinion: Well said!  I have a faith.  I believe in a higher power.  What that higher power is, I have no idea.  Whether it is religion based or science based, I truly have no idea.  Are there really pearly gates in the cloud?  Or do we simply go on living on another plane? Again…

But I was born and raised a Catholic, so it’s been easy for me to keep the idea that I was brought up with but as I grew older, as I’ve had more and more experiences, my view on that higher power/God has been adapted.  I go to mass sometime.  I say prayers every night.  I go to mass because I’m a traditionalist – Christmas and Easter hold major significance for me.  I say prayers every night because I am thankful for what I have and – now this is where people might judge me –  I feel like I’m communicating with someone or something.  When I bless myself something in my head says that there’s a line of communication open with another side.  Sometimes, if I’ve had a really shitty day or I’m feeling lonely I keep that line open.  I feel like maybe it’s that bit easier to talk to the people that I’ve loved and lost.

And now people probably think I’m crazy.

And I’ve gone slightly off point.

I loved the interview.  What bothered me was the aftermath.

When I was growing up, I thought that Gay Byrne was the coolest, most open minded Irish TV personality that was… well, on TV.  But I was greatly disappointed by his reaction.  What astounded me even more was the reaction by the public.  On local radio, Fry’s comment was described as insincere and were made solely to gain reaction and simply because he is a man in the public eye.

I personally applaud and admire (and perhaps am slightly biased in his favour) Stephen Fry  –  he made his point, supported his argument and at the end, conceded that what he was saying was, indeed, his own opinion. Dozens of people – I don’t want to give examples because I feel that I’ve spoken my mind enough in one post – don’t have this trait of oration to fall back on.

I can’t wait to watch the full interview!

Disclaimer: I am completely sincere in my opinion. None of the views expressed in this post, or indeed on this site or said purely to ‘play into an industry’ or gain a reaction… Ok, maybe gain a little reaction –

Leave a Reply

