The Joker In ‘Gotham, The Blind Fortune Teller’ 1×16 ?

I have been between 2 minds about this show since it first came on the screens. I watched the first episode and wasn’t too pushed. Sure, there were elements that I really liked: Edward Nygma working for GCPD and the clip of the comedian, a clear allusion to The Joker (I think they said his name, which, for comic book fans, is Jack White). But over all the show really did nothing for me. Maybe it was the concept of the show or maybe it was because it stole the title for my Gotham based TV show but I don’t want to sound like a bitter bitch so I’m going to go with the concept. But lately, I’ve been feeling the Batman-mania and thought I’d give it another go. I wasn’t paying attention, I’ll be honest, but this scene freaked me out:

There was so much to love about this scene. There were moments throughout where I couldn’t decode whether or not he would be until that creepy ass smile at the end. What a brilliant stroke of casting.  And that smile!  It was enough to challenge the scene with C. Thomas Howell in that episode of Criminal Minds:

This will always turn my stomach

Just some notable mentions about the scene:

  • Sicero’s suit – It’s purple.  It’s a very dark purple but it’s purple
  • Cicero: ‘I’m your father’
    A very eagle-eyed YouTuber pointed this one out – this line mirror what is said to Luke Skywalker, who is played by Mark Hamill, who voiced The Joker. BAM!

And, on a final note, I really like how the casting and aging is in line.  It always struck me that Joker would be older than bats by a few years.

UPDATE:  I have been advised to steer clear… BUT I DON’T KNOW IF I CAN!

Leave a Reply

