Let’s Talk About Rey…

This post feels a little sharp edged.  Maybe it’s just me, but it doesn’t feel polished and, so, I’m sorry.  But I’ve reread it and edited it and hopefully it was just the font I was using in the editor but I decided to post it because I didn’t know what else I could do to it. I wanted to do this topic justice because it’s been in my head since christmas.  My OCD wanted me to get all of it out in one post but I’ve had to break it up into two parts.  So maybe my OCD is to blame for it…

Ok, guys… guys… guys… This is going to be one of those posts where I write as a stream of consciousness and then fill in the blanks once I’ve gotten everything out of my system and it’s a super energized theory and analysis and just completely fantric   hehe.  Also, it looks like it’s going to be hella long so bear with me.

Enjoy, lovelies…

I was playing Battlefront over Christmas and my brother was explaining about Jakku and I thought, “Shit I really need to watch The Force Awakens.”  Somehow I ended up googling Rey and found an article titled something along the lines of Rey is Obi-Wans relative.  And then I found another one, and another, and another and decided to watch the fucking movie before I fell any further down the Rey Heritage Rabbit Hole.  So, I watched the movie and, taking the entire, and I mean the ENTIRE saga (novelisations and all)* into account, here are my thoughts on just who Rey is.

I think Rey is a Kenobi.

Disclaimer: Before I clicked on any links I did think, “Why does it matter? Why can’t she just be Rey?” and I still agree with that but here you will see my a) acceptance to tie everything in together and then b) my complete decsent into heritage madness…
Things to know before you read on:  Movie titles will be referenced as follows: A New Hope ANH; Empire Strikes BackESB; Return of the JediRoTJ; The Phantom MenaceTPM; Attack of the ClonesAoTC; Revenge of the SithRoTS; The Force AwakensTFA; or collectively as Prequel Trilogy (PT); Original Trilogy (OT) and Sequel Trilogy (ST).  Italics and all.

Rey is Luke’s Daughter

No.  It feels too easy.  The whole ‘his lightsaber calling to her’; Luke’s daughter vs Leia’s Son…  If they were going to make it that sort of a reference I think they would have placed another little hint in the vision scene or they could have kept some of the Expanded Universe canon and had a slight reference to Mara Jade in there but I saw nothing.  People have been trying to analyse Luke’s reaction to seeing Rey and I have my own theory about that which I will post later but for now, no.  I don’t think that Rey is Luke’s daughter.  The Star Wars Saga in it’s entirety have so many parallels.  For example:  ANH introduces a mentor who dies at the end of the movie (Obi-Wan); TPM also introduces a mentor who meets his demise before the end credits (Qui-Gon); TFA has Rey meet Han and the two quickly develop an almost familial bond.   That is until Han dies.  There are plenty of these:  flying through an asteroid field in the 2nd movie of each… trilogy. Anyway, my thinking is the Luke will be the Yoda and Obi-Wan Kenobi to Rey.

Rey Is The Daughter Of Leia Organa & Han Solo

8f8568b69829d70122434ea48fb56d48

Source

This feels a little more likely.  Rey’s connection to Han was almost automatic and, although Leia and Rey only had a handful of scenes together where they had indirect contact with each other, their hug at the end wasn’t odd or awkward.  It didn’t feel like Leia was thinking “who is this random girl who got so attached to my estranged husband in such a short space of time?”  It definitely felt like there was a deeper connection there.   A connection deeper than she would have with Luke.

When I first saw this clip of Han looking at Rey, I did think it was a fatherly look but taking into account the rest of the movie, that thought has gone.  Again, parallels, guys.

If Rey was their daughter, I’m sure one of them would have realised.

(But if Rey is a Kenobi, why would she have such a connection with Leia and Han, a Solo and a Skywalker???  Well, that theory is in part b…)

Rey is a Kenobi

Let’s put aside the obvious – the matching colour scheme that Rey wore in TFA and that Obi-Wan wore in the PT and ANH and the accent which sets both apart as the only “British speaking” characters in the franchise (except for Palpatine), even though John Boyega is British, but he put on an American accent.  And also, not even going to skim the fact that the cast call asked for “Obi-Wan’s granddaughter.” … daughter?… Any way.

“Rey’s Isolation is key to her Origin.” I’m currently reading Kenobi, a legends novel about Obi-Wan’s time on Tatooine.  I’m about 4 pages in.  But Obi-Wan spent almost 20 years alone on Tatooine.  Rey is all alone on Jakku.  Coincidence???

Lightsaber.  Yes, the Lightsaber belonged to both Luke and Anakin. ( But that’s technically not Luke’s lightsaber.  Luke created a new one when he lost this one.  )  Luke had this lightsaber for a very short space of time – not more than a few months.  Anakin had it for maybe three years.  It was Obi-Wan who had this lightsaber in his possession the longest.  That is why we hear Obi-Wan’s voice in the vision – he’s calling to her through the force.  If Rey was some connection to the Skywalkers, couldn’t Anakin call to her instead?

Dueling Scene.  I’m just going to leave this here because this is all you need to see for the fight

I mean, Anakin was such a (sorry not sorry for the upcoming language) whiny little bitch in the PT (and Adam Driver mirrors him so well as a petulant teenager) it’s sad to think that the entire history of SW is based on this annoying character and the story would have so much more umph, I think if, when it’s come full circle, it was the epitome of Good vs. the epitome of Evil á la Obi-Wan vs. Anakin.

I’m not saying Obi-Wan and the Jedi weren’t flawed: Mace Windu is a prime example, as is Yoda and even Obi-Wan but what if we took the entire saga as thus:

  • PT– Obi-Wan vs Anakin – The Story of a broken brotherhood
  • OT– Luke vs Anakin – The Story of Redemption
  • ST–  Rey vs.  Kylo  Ren – The return of the broken brotherhood through their decendants.

Obi-Wan could have never known about his child until after he died and then remained with Rey, guiding her in life when he found out he had descendants.  20 years is a long time to be alone on Tatooine.

I’m just waiting for her to say, “Well, hello there…”

For more info, Check Huffington Post’s article.

Leave a Reply

